vrijdag 16 september 2016 14:30-15:15 uur

Klarinetkwartet bestaande uit:

Klarinet – Ana Prazeres
Viool – Matthijs van der Wel, Ernst Jan Vos
Altviool – Martin Moriarty
Cello – Hadewych van Gent

Met op het programma:

Dvorak String Quartet nr. 12 in F major “American”

  • I Allegro ma non troppo
  • II Lento

The piece was written in 1893, during Dvorak’s time in the United States. It premiered on January 1894, in Boston. Althought he quotes no actual American melodies, Dvorak set out to capture the spirit of American music in his work’s melodic flow and harmonic construction.


Mozart Clarinet Quintet in A major, K.581

  • I Allegro
  • II Larghetto
  • III Menuetto – Trio
  • IV Allegretto con Variazioni

Mozart got to know the clarinet through the “Musikalischer Parade”, in Salzburg. His confidence on writting for the instrument increased due to his acquaintance with Anton Stadler, the Viennese clarinetist and one of the biggest clarinet references in the city. In fact, Mozart wrote, both the Clarinet Concerto k622 and the Clarinet Quintet k581, to Stadler.
The subject “love” is very often present, when Mozart writes for clarinet, duo to it’s “sound of great sentiment”.